Women and Farming – a Selection of Photographs and Projects

When I worked on assignment in Mexico, I often took time to pursue projects off the beaten path for my own personal work. I was drawn to agriculture because at the time, I gave a lot of thought to how my grandparents had known so much, and I – so little – about growing my own food. This is one of my favorite images from that time – and part of the larger The Maize Project.

View the image here.

(Fine Art Print easily ordered online here.)

FarmHer Photography Project

I came across Marji Guyler-Alaniz’s FarmHer project and visited to learn more about this project documenting women working in agriculture. A long-term project, Marji has set her goal of photographing  over time the work and life of women in Iowa who farm – hence the name, FarmHer! Marji has extended her project into a brand offering a shop with purchases supporting women farmers. Take a look at her proof sheets, and learn more about her project by clicking on the photo below.

http://www.farmher.com/p753275411/h669f5a9f#h669f5a9f

Kara Boyd, Farmer/Rancher/Landowner and co-founder, Assoc. of American Indian Farmers

One important campaign to contribute is farmer Kara Boyd,  co-founder with her husband Dr. John Boyd, Jr. of the National Womens Farming Association, who is fundraising for will support advocacy, outreach and technical assistance to farmers to improve access to competitive markets. Kara Boyd is an enrolled member of the Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina, and as a farmer/rancher/landowner, she also co-founded the Association of American Indian Farmers.

Please consider donating directly to their campaign at http://www.donationto.com/Help-Save-the-FARMS-FARMERS